Witnessing

A Jehovah’s Witness came to my door this morning.

He greeted me with a ‘good morning’ then immediately motioned towards two children standing with him.

‘I’ve got Henry and Charlie with me this morning’.

I gave the two boys a quick glance like I would chewy gum at a gas station counter and looked back to the tall man at my front door.

He wore a turn of the century hat. It was black and didn’t match the green and purple-framed glasses on his face.

He handed me two brochures and asked me if money made me happy.

I wondered what money had to do with a millenarian restorationist Christian denomination? Then I realized…EVERYTHING!

I looked at the brochures in my hand and up at man in my doorway, then I addressed him clearly and calmly.

‘Take your two sales tactics’ I said, nodding towards Henry and Charlie’

‘And get flock off my stoop’.

Leave a Reply

